Randomosity











{March 11, 2014}   Interview with Kory M. Shrum-Author of Dying for a Living

Kory Shrum Pic2I am so excited to have Kory Shrum visit my blog and talk about her latest release.  She’s honestly one of my favorite new authors, and I sincerely hope you all go and check out her book, Dying for a Living.

Before we start talking about your latest book (which I LOVE, by the way), why don’t you tell everyone a little bit about yourself.

I’m just an insane person who loved books so much that she went to college for nine years to learn how to write them. And I teach college writing courses.

When you’re not writing, what else do you do in your spare time?

I’m into a lot of weird *&^%. Books, music, movies/TV, vegan baking, globetrotting, martial arts (I study Aikido and I have a black belt in Uechi Ryu). I study French and have a tutor. I also have an elk and maple drum that I use for shamanic drumming. I’m pretty much this person: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOavbyDKSi0

Your latest work Dying for a Living has one of the coolest main characters I’ve ever read.  Where did the inspiration for Jesse come from?

I’ve always loved the reluctant hero. The person who will do the right thing, even if they have to grumble their way through it. And I’ve also been a fan of the female lead who has to come to terms with her power. I’m sure Jesse is a composite of several such characters. I’m a bit of magpie in that I take shiny objects—character traits, good lines, descriptions, etc.— whenever I see them. I’ve heard “good writers borrow, great writers steal.” (T.S. Eliot). As you can see, I’m trying to be a great writer.

I really enjoyed Jesse’s snarkiness and bad attitude. Is there a little bit of her floating around inside you?  😉

Yes.

More than a little—especially when I was younger and I had a grudge against the world. But as I get older I’m more like Ally.

In Dying for a Living, you’ve created this new condition, NRD.  Tell us about it and how it pertains to the plotline of the novel?

NRD– Necronitic Regenerative Disorder—is a neurological disorder that approximately 2% of the population has. Because it is usually caused by a gene mutation, it is often genetically inherited. When NRD first started to happen, people panicked thinking it was apocalyptic or at the very least, the repercussion of biological warfare. These people were taken into protective custody and ruthlessly experimented on until rights activists petitioned for their release. All of this happened long before Jesse’s time. The era she lives in is the post-horror commercial age, where the government has set up the death-replacement industry to try and put a positive spin on the horrible things they did in the past.

Would you want to be a Death Replacement Agent?

Absolutely. Who wouldn’t want the ability to save the ones they love from death? But mostly, I’d want to be what Jesse is turning into. *zips lips* Side note from Rebecca…You CAN’T do this to me!!!  I need the next book so I can know what you’re doing to Jesse!!

Are you a plotter or a pantser when writing?

I plot with my pants off…?  I usually have an idea of the destination, and a few high points along the way, but then I just sort of let whatever happens, happen in between.  I love it when my characters surprise me with a detail that I didn’t expect.

Favorite snack food?

One? Just one? Okay: butteredpopcorndonutsicecreamchocolate

What is your secret guilty pleasure?

TV binges and playing Sims—though playing is the wrong word since all I’m interested in doing is designing big beautiful houses and making everyone sleep with each other.

What do you geek out over the most?

Things made out of paper.

You’ve recently returned from a trip to Europe.  What do you wish you’d done more of while abroad?

Paris Brest. It’s a puff pastry. Google it.  Side note from Rebecca again…OMG.  That looks AMAZING!!

What is your favorite word?

I have many because I love words. But this time, let’s go with dilapidated

What is your least favorite word?

Same here. But for this time, squirt

BIO
Kory M. Shrum lives in Michigan with her partner and a ferocious guard pug. When not writing, she can be found teaching, traveling, and wearing a gi. Her poetry has appeared in North American Review, Bateau and elsewhere. Her first urban fantasy novel Dying for a Living is out now on Amazon. And she’d love to hear from you on Facebook , G+,  or Twitter. To be notified of new releases, please sign up for her mailing list.

 

 

 

Thanks so much for this, Rebecca! I had a lot of fun 🙂



Thank you! I really enjoyed it.



[…] Interview with Kory M. Shrum-Author of Dying for a Living […]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
