Randomosity











{March 5, 2014}   Interview with Children’s Book Author J.R. Barker

I’m very excited to have been able to interview children’s book author J.R. Barker.  And just LOOK at this adorable frog on her cover?  I can’t get over how cute he is!

  1. Before we start talking about your book, why don’t you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

    I am 25 year old Bookworm with a head full of fluff and a heart full of dreams.

  2. When you’re not writing, what other things do you do in your spare time?

    I love to read, write, walk, and do stuff in and around water. I also like to take photos.

  3. Where do you get your ideas from?

    The idea gnomes. They visit me from time to time and leave behind bubbles full of ideas; they always burst but some show me rainbows first.

  4. Is it hard to come up with character names?

    Not generally, but I have one pesky little fella at the moment who laughs in the face of names.

  5. Is music a factor when you’re writing?  Do you create playlists for your books?

    No, I used to listen to music a lot. But now when I do listen to music I stick iiTunes onto shuffle and let it choose.

  6. Out of all of the stories you’ve written so far, what is your favorite and why?

    I haven’t finished my favorite one so I can’t tell you what it is yet.

  7. Are there any genres you’re looking to branch into?

    I’m branching into fantasy with an eye to dip my toe in the currents of sci-fi.

  8. What is the hardest thing about being a writer?

    Making your brain think it wants to go over the same line again and again, only to have it tell you later that it doesn’t want that line at all.

  9. Why don’t you tell us a little about your latest work?  Please feel free to provide a blurb and a snippet, along with the cover image.

    The Adventures of the Frog Prince is a new take on the old fairy tale, The Frog Prince.
    In the original it seemed that the Princesses role was to strop around and be ungrateful, I thought that the Prince’s story would be much more interesting. So I wrote it.

    Frog cover IanPrince Leo has problems.
    He is currently stuck in a moat and is trying to come to terms with being small, green and surprisingly springy.
    Now he must learn to walk all over again, and avoid being eaten, as he finds his way back to the castle to find out who wants him out of the way and why.

Fun/Silly Questions

  1. If you could have any super power, what would you choose?

    The ability to create anything I wanted/ needed.

  2. What is your favorite word?

    Phenylalanine, an amino acid

  3. What is your spirit animal?

    I’d like to think it would be a wise old owl, but it’s probably something lame like a labradoodle.

You can find J.R. at her website, blog, or Facebook.

You can purchase The Adventures of the Frog Prince here.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
